Box 219, 301 2nd Avenue South, Lucky Lake SK, S0L 1Z0
Phone: 306-858-2052

What are School Community Councils? 

  1. Provincial legislation requires every school in Saskatchewan to have a school community council (SCC).

  2.  A SCC consists of 5-9 elected parents and community members as well as 1-2 students, the principal and one designated teacher.  Others may be designated if the community feels it is appropriate. 

  3. The main role of the SCC is to support student learning.  Working with the school staff, the SCC help identify priorities for student learning based on effective practices such as caring and respectful schools and meeting the needs of all learners.

  4. The SCC also provide communities with a voice in local education as well as provide parent and community members with opportunities to initiate, support and build programs that enhance learning and student well being.  SCCs work with schools to ensure success for all!